Friday, March 26, 2010

California Mechanics Lien Filing Time Limitations

California has no shortage of laws and regulations, and the mechanics lien filing process is no exception.  In order to preserve the maximum amount of construction lien rights, within 20 days of the commencement of work on the property, subcontractors and suppliers should provide written notice to the owner, the general contractor and the construction lender that they are performing work on the property. If the notice is served late, then the claimant can claim a lien for the value of the labor or materials provided in the 20 days preceding the service of the notice and thereafter.

Prime contractors must file a claim of lien within 60 days after a notice of completion or notice of cessation is recorded, or if no recording of completion or cessation is accomplished, within 90 days after the completion of the work of improvement.

Subcontractors and materialmen must file a claim of lien within 30 days after a notice of completion or notice of cessation is recorded, or if no recording of completion or cessation is accomplished, within 90 days after the completion of the work of improvement.

For more information on California mechanics liens, take a look at LienItNow.com's California Information Page.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for this informative article. In this economy, I realize I need to be proactive and think about protecting my rights before an issue comes up. These time limitations will prove to be valuable.

    ReplyDelete